Return to Headlines

MCPS Welcomes New Leadership

For Immediate Release

July 8, 2019


Waverly Yowell Elementary School is pleased to announce that Mrs. Pattie Rees has been selected as the dean of students beginning the 2019-20 school year.

Having grown up in Madison County, with a family of educators, Mrs. Rees began her career teaching all subjects at Farmington Elementary School in Culpeper County for thirteen years.  She flourished in that role and during her tenure was named Culpeper County's Teacher of the Year.  She has taught the past six years at Wetsel Middle School where she continued to shine in the classroom.  Mrs. Rees received her Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education from the University of Mary Washington, a Masters in Education from Troy University, and is currently working on her Doctoral degree in Educational Leadership from Liberty University.

Mr. Joe Kubricki, Principal of Waverly Yowell, stated, "I am excited to have such a passionate student-focused individual joining our Waverly family.  Mrs. Rees brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to our school.  She will be a tremendous asset to Waverly Yowell."

Madison Primary School is excited to welcome Mrs. Sharon Johnson as the next Assistant Principal.  Born and raised in Madison County, Sharon is a 1991 graduate of Madison County High School and was recognized as the valedictorian of her graduating class.  She continued her education at the University of Virgina, where in 1995 she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology with a minor in History, followed by a Master of Education in Counseling in 1998.  Sharon worked as a school counselor in neighboring Greene County for 18 years before returning to graduate school at James Madison University, earning her Endorsement in Educational Leadership in 2018.  Madison Primary School Principal Mike Coiner stated, "We're thrilled to have Sharon become a part of our MPS family, and welcome the talents that she brings to our school. Her broad knowledge of curriculum, and her expertise in the social and emotional growth of children will serve to enhance the already strong programs that are in place."

Both will begin their new posts on August 1, 2019.